6 Signs You Have Emotional Trauma But Don’t Know It

You may be experiencing signs of unresolved emotional trauma if often wonder why you feel broken while others seem to easily enjoy the simpler things in life. In this video, we will cover additional signs that were not included in Part 1. We hope to help you gain insight into some of your thoughts and behaviors, and offer some steps you can take towards healing.

Watch this video for part 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmbIcdJ0Zx8

Script Writer: Stela Kosic
Script Editor: Caitlin McColl
Script Manager: Kelly Soong
Voice: Amanda Silvera (www.youtube.com/amandasilvera)
Animator: Aury
YouTube Manager: Cindy Cheong

References:

A. (2020, December 31). The Subtle Effects of Trauma – Social Withdrawal. Khiron Clinics. khironclinics.com/blog/trauma-and-social-withdrawal/

Arabi, S., MA. (2022, March 30). Do You Seek Validation from Others? Here’s How to Stop. Psych Central. psychcentral.com/health/steps-to-stop-seeking-approval-from-others/

Campbell, L. (2021, June 8). Why Personal Boundaries are Important and How to Set Them. Psych Central. psychcentral.com/lib/what-are-personal-boundaries-how-do-i-get-some/

Chen, C., Hewitt, P. L., & Flett, G. L. (2019, August). Adverse childhood experiences and multidimensional perfectionism in young adults. Personality and Individual Differences, 146, 53–57. doi.org/10.1016/j.paid.2019.03.042

Depression Traps: Social Withdrawal, Rumination, and More. (2010, December 6). WebMD. www.webmd.com/depression/features/depression-traps-and-pitfalls

Hämmig, O. (2019, August 29). Correction: Health risks associated with social isolation in general and in young, middle and old age. PLOS ONE, 14(8), e0222124. doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0222124

Hölzel, B. K., Carmody, J., Vangel, M., Congleton, C., Yerramsetti, S. M., Gard, T., & Lazar, S. W. (2011, January). Mindfulness practice leads to increases in regional brain gray matter density. Psychiatry Research: Neuroimaging, 191(1), 36–43. doi.org/10.1016/j.pscychresns.2010.08.006

How to Overcome Your Fear of Conflict. (2021, July 3). Verywell Mind. www.verywellmind.com/how-do-i-get-over-my-fear-of-conflict-with-others-3024828

Lamothe, C. (2020, March 30). Conflict Avoidance Doesn’t Do You Any Favors. Healthline. www.healthline.com/health/conflict-avoidance#how-its-harmful

Morin, A. (2016, October 27). 6 Ways to Overcome the Fear of Confrontation. Psychology Today. www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/what-mentally-strong-people-dont-do/201610/6-ways-overcome-the-fear-confrontation

Pattemore, C. (2021, June 3). 10 Ways to Build and Preserve Better Boundaries. Psych Central. psychcentral.com/lib/10-way-to-build-and-preserve-better-boundaries

Pineles, S. L., Mostoufi, S. M., Ready, C. B., Street, A. E., Griffin, M. G., & Resick, P. A. (2011, February). Trauma reactivity, avoidant coping, and PTSD symptoms: A moderating relationship? Journal of Abnormal Psychology, 120(1), 240–246. doi.org/10.1037/a0022123

Pluut, H., & Wonders, J. (2020). Not Able to Lead a Healthy Life When You Need It the Most: Dual Role of Lifestyle Behaviors in the Association of Blurred Work-Life Boundaries With Well-Being. Frontiers in Psychology, 11. doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2020.607294

Sachdev, G. (2022, January 10). Why do some people need constant validation? An expert tells us all. Healthshots. www.healthshots.com/mind/mental-health/need-for-validation-and-its-effects-on-mental-health/amp

Therapy, H. (2021, August 30). Healthy Boundaries – 12 Signs You Lack Them (and Why You Need Them). Harley TherapyTM Blog. www.harleytherapy.co.uk/counselling/healthy-boundaries.htm

Wonders, J. (2020, December 23). Not Able to Lead a Healthy Life When You Need It the Most: Dual Role of Lifestyle Behaviors in the Association of Blurred Work-Life Boundaries With Well-Being. Frontiers in Psychology, 11. doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2020.607294